ASiT Silver Scalpel Award Winner 2024


ASiT Silver Scalpel Award Winner 2024

This year was the 48th ASiT Annual Surgical Conference which took place in Bournemouth from the 8th – 10th March. Over the past two decades the prestigious Silver Scalpel Award sponsored by Swann-Morton, has played an important role in recognising trainers who go the extra mile for their trainees and promote the highest of standards of surgical training. “Empowering Tomorrow’s Surgeons”

At a time of constant flux in the NHS, with training increasingly squeezed by demands on service, it is more important than ever that we recognise and reward good trainers. Training goes hand in hand with providing excellent patient care, and Silver Scalpel winners also deliver an exemplary service to their patients, creating a positive clinical environment and learning culture for trainees (ASiT, 2024).

The Nominees for the 2024 Association of Surgeons in Training Silver Scalpel Award were as follows:

  • Ms Hawys Loyd-Hughes – Consultant Plastic Surgeon – Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Trust
  • Mr James Brewer – Consultant Upper GI Surgeon – Chelsea and Westminster NHS Trust
  • Professor Jim Khan – Consultant Colorectal Surgeon – Queen Alexandra Hospital
  • Mr Mark Dilworth – Consultant Colorectal and Paediatric Surgeon – Birmingham Heartlands Hospital
  • Mr Matija Krkovic – Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon – Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • Mr Nikolaos Kostoulas – Consultant Thoracic Surgeon – Golden Jubilee National Hospital

The Winner of the 2024 Silver Scalpel Award was Mr Mark Dilworth who spoke very highly upon receiving the award. “I’m extremely humbled to be nominated for this prestigious surgical award and thank my trainees enormously for this great honour. Never has it been more true that no training today means no surgeons tomorrow. Now is the time to focus on training value, and work with our trainees to maximise its productivity and enjoyment.”

Swann-Morton would like to take this opportunity to once again congratulate Mark Dilworth on winning this years ASiT Silver Scalpel Award.

ASiT Silver Scalpel Award Winner 2024